SABC News | Sport | TV | Radio | Education | TV Licenses | Contact Us

Mdantsane bus boycott

On 18 July 1983, a boycott of the partly government-owned Ciskei Transport Corporation (CTC) buses started in Mdantsane, Ciskei, in protest at an 11 per cent fare increase. The boycott lasted until 15 March 1985, when it was called off at a mass meeting held by the Committee of Ten. During the boycott, members of the Ciskei security forces, backed up by vigilantes, carried out assaults and attacks on commuters to force them to use the buses. On 22 July 1983, five people were shot and wounded by Ciskei security forces at the Fort Jackson railway station. On 3 August, a state of emergency was declared in Mdantsane and a night curfew imposed. Meetings of more than four people were banned and people were prohibited from walking in groups larger than four. The following day Ciskei forces, with orders to stop commuters boarding the trains at all costs, opened fire on commuters at three Mdantsane railway stations. At least six commuters died and many were injured. Two more people were shot dead by Ciskei police within days of the railway station shootings.

... held in Athlone (9 to 11 June) this week. We also hear testimonies from survivors and victims? relatives of APLA?s Highgate Hotel bombing and the Mdantsane bus boycott from the HRV Committee hearings held in East London (15 June). The Special Report rescreens footage from the June 16, 1976 ...
Broadcasting for Total Citizen Empowerment
SABC © 2021